ZANU PF  Primary Election Reruns Dates Set

By Staff Reporter

ZANU PF, the ruling party in Zimbabwe, has announced that primary election reruns will be conducted in five constituencies.

 The reruns will take place on 15 April in Mbare, Churu, Gokwe-Nembudziya, and Zvimba West constituencies while in Insiza South, the rerun will be conducted on 22 April.

Addressing journalists at the party Headquarters on Thursday, ZANU PF national Political Commissar Mike Bimha said voting will start at 7 AM and end at 3 PM.

“The vote counting process will start thereafter and will be finished by 6 PM. The results will be relayed to the Constituency Command Centre which in turn will advise the National Command Centre. Now that the reruns will be conducted, the tribunal will no longer meet to consider complaints from the primaries. If the tribunal is going to sit, they will probably be sitting to consider complaints from the reruns, but I don’t expect any,” Bimha said

In order to ensure a smooth rerun, the party has deployed Politburo members to the five constituencies. Two members of the Politburo will be present in each constituency, and each polling centre will have a Central Committee member to supervise the elections at that polling station.

Bimha warned that any candidate accused of violence will be disqualified.

Mbare constituency will have 10 polling stations, while Churu will have 25, Zvimba West 24, Insiza South 35, and Gokwe-Nembudziya 28.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button