Post Insurance Mr Pace Half Marathon Set to Draw Over 1,000 Athletes

By Judith Nyuke

More than 1,000 athletes are set to compete in the third iteration of the Post Insurance Mr Pace half marathon, taking place this weekend at the National Sports Stadium B Arena in Harare.

With the backing of Zimpost and its associates Nicoz Diamond, Global Risk Underwriting Managers (GRUMA), and ZINARA, the event has boosted its prize pool from $10,000 to $20,000 for this year. This enhancement is expected to draw in elite local athletes.

Club chairperson Martha Mashamhanda has revealed that they anticipate a large crowd due to the event’s inclusive nature, which welcomes participants of all ages.

“As the club manager, I am very optimistic for a high turnout and a day worth remembering in athletics loaded with activities.

“In its third year, the Mr Pace-Post Insurance Marathon continues to gather momentum, attracting both seasoned athletes and social runners of all ages. It’s in athletics where age truly knows no limits,” she said.

She added that those who wish to register must do so at Zimpost offices along Julius Nyere way.

Event organiser Venencia Sigauke preparations for the big day are now at an advanced stage.

“We are very much excited about the event as preparations are now at an advanced stage.

“We have quite a number of athletes who have already registered and corporates that have expressed interest and so we are expecting a huge turnout on our third edition on Saturday,” he said.

Proud Bhanya, representing the Mr Pace Athletics Club, also anticipates a highly competitive event.

“We are really grateful that we are once again able to host this annual event, which is a renowned race in Zimbabwe.

“If you host an event which brings many people together, it only proves that there is growth in your way of doing things and so we are grateful,” said Bhanya.

Competitors will engage in various competitions such as the 21km, 10km, 5km, and 1km races, each featuring distinct categories for senior men and women, veteran masters, great grand masters, juniors, and wheelchair athletes.

In the previous year, Olivia Chitate emerged victorious in the women’s 21km race, while Elijah Mabhunu claimed the title in the men’s 21km competition.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button